European Parliament committees

Photo: European Parliament

Before the plenary sessions, the issues are prepared in committees. The committees are formed from the Members of Parliament. They are smaller working groups that specialise in specific areas. All in all, there are 20 standing committees. Additionally, the Parliament may set up sub-committees, committees of inquiry, special committees and temporary committees.

The committees repair reports which are put to vote in the plenary session of the whole Parliament.

Committees and their abbreviations