Freedom of travel

Photo: European Parliament

EU citizens – meaning the citizens of every EU member state – are free to travel in all other member states. The countries that have signed the Schengen Agreement do not have border checks between the signatory countries. No visa is necessary inside the Schengen Area. There is common border control in the Area. A visa issued for one country is valid for the whole Schengen Area.

The Schengen Area includes 26 European countries:

Photo: European Parliament

Of all the EU member states, only the UK, Romania, Bulgaria and Ireland have not signed the Schengen Agreement.

Carry a passport

A passport is not necessary in the European Union. A photo ID is enough when you travel from one country to another. However, it is a good idea to have a passport with you although it is not necessary. The passport is the best proof of identity in case of problems.