The European Union’s mission is to ensure the free mobility of people, goods, services and capital within the Union (the ‘four freedoms’). At the same time, all discrimination is strictly forbidden.

The Union respects the national identity, political system and constitution of the member states. They work together in good faith.

The judgments of the European Court of Justice override the laws of the member states.

All activity is based on democracy which must be respected at all times.

The principles of how the European Union operates are defined in the Treaties also known as the Treaty of Lisbon.

The rights granted and obligations imposed by the European Union are recorded in the Charter of Fundamental Rights which is a fixed part of the Treaty.